Accountability

COURSE DESCRIPTION

Accountability Processes: Creating, Maintaining, Sustaining Community Safety

Accountability processes have become a new buzzword and alternative to the prison industrial complex. As we imagine the world we each want to be a part of creating, what are the documented paths our ancestors have left for us? How my we divest in disposability? Where do we find tools to build these new paths? Are we ready? We will explore some of the early examples of documented accountability processes, speak with those who have experienced one, examine the evolution of accountability, and identify what parts of accountability are useful for the work we are committed to and the communities we value. Participants will create a template of their own personal protocol for accountability by the end of the course.

 

Learning Objective:

In this course participants will examine select accountability processes that have been documented and speak with those who have gone through an accountability process to identify aspects that are valuable for their community protocols for safety.

 

Learning Outcomes:

By the end of this course participants will be able to:

  • Identify three core aspects of accountability processes that have worked
  • Discuss the parts of accountability processes that are of value to their communities
  • Draft a protocol for accountability to replace a consequence / punishment
  • Examine a variety of accountability processes that have been documented

Register today for our June 10-July 7, 2018 session which will meet for four Sundays for two hours from 12pm PST/2pm CT/3pm EST.